Action Needed!

Allen and Linda Holmes
Image Source: The Colebrook Chronicle
Northern Pass will cut a swath through some of New Hampshire’s most scenic landscapes and jeopardize local jobs, sacrificing the future for short-term gain. It is time to stand up for the places we love.

Make your voice heard and help New Hampshire make the right decision in the following ways:

Write to Governor Sununu

Now that the Site Evaluation Committee has unanimously denied their application, Northern Pass is encouraging its supporters to contact Governor Sununu to say they want the SEC deliberations re-opened.

Eversource has vowed to fight this decision – and now, we need to fight back.

Let’s match – and exceed – those contacting the Governor to voice our appreciation for the SEC’s decision and our opposition to this project. The committee stood up for NH, now he should too.

Please send a message to Governor Sununu using our contact form. You may also send a message using the information below.

This is the time to STAY VIGILANT – we are #NeverNorthernPass.

Email the Office of the Governor:
bit.ly/2zxgXZ2

Mail:
Office of the Governor
State House
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301

Fax:
(603) 271-7640

Call:
(603) 271-2121

Contact Your State Legislator

Who’s My Legislator? Follow this link to identify and obtain contact information for your state and local legislators: www.gencourt.state.nh.us/house/members/wml.aspx.

Then write, call, or email them to tell them why Northern Pass does not belong in New Hampshire!

Tell Massachusetts State Officials: NO to Northern Pass

Massachusetts will help decide Northern Pass’ fate. The state has asked companies to submit plans for bringing power to the state and Northern Pass claims it’s a top contender. If Northern Pass is selected, Massachusetts gets nearly all of the electricity; New Hampshire gets all the negative impacts.

Contact Massachusetts officials to let them know why they should join us in saying NO.

Commissioner Judith Judson
Department of Energy Resources
100 Cambridge Street, Suite 1020
Boston, MA 02114
doer.energy@state.ma.us

Secretary Matthew Beaton
Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs
100 Cambridge Street, Suite 900
Boston, MA 02114
matthew.beaton@state.ma.us

Attorney General Maura Healey
Energy and Environment Bureau
One Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-2200
ago@state.ma.us

Mr. Paul Gromer
Independent Evaluator
Peregrine Energy Group
85 Merrimac Street, Suite 300
Boston, MA 02114

Contact the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)

Northern Pass requires a Section 404 permit from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers due to the significant impact of the project on waterways and wetlands. The EPA recently sent a letter to USACE arguing that Northern Pass must bury an additional 40 miles of the transmission line in order to avoid further direct impacts to streams, vernal pools and exemplary natural communities and cause less damage to the aquatic environment than their current plan.

Contact the New England U.S. Army Corps and tell them to deny the permit for this proposal:

Lindsey Lefebvre
US Army Corps of Engineers
New England District
696 Virginia Road
Concord, MA 01742
(978)-318-8295
lindsay.e.lefebvre@usace.army.mil

Write Your Very Own Letter to the Editor for Your Local NH Newspaper

Letters to newspapers throughout the state are an effective way to spread the No To Northern Pass message.

Tell your story on why you say no to Northern Pass. Write a letter to the editor of your local paper explaining how Northern Pass affects you. Read Representative Baber’s letter – it is a great example of why people should oppose the project.

Here are a couple of tips when writing your letter:

  • Be personal. The most powerful way of carrying out our message is by telling the individual stories behind our cause.
  • Be passionate but thoughtful. Use language that both conveys your emotion and is suitable to print. Think about what would appeal to an editor and local audience.

Here’s who to contact:

PUBLICATIONEMAIL/WEB FORM FOR LETTERS
Alton Baysiderbaysider@salmonpress.com
Amherst Citizennews@amherstcitizen.com
Berlin Daily Sunbds@berlindailysun.com
Berlin Reporterberlinreporter@salmonpress.com
Bow Timesinfo@thebowtimes.com
Carriage Town News (Kingston)www.carriagetownenews.com/site/forms/online_services/letter_editor/
Carroll County Independentcci@salmonpress.com
Colebrook Chroniclewww.colebrookchronicle.weebly.com/contact.html OR editor@colebrookchronicle.com
Colebrook News and Sentinelkarenhladd@colebrooknewsandsentinel.com
Concord Monitorwww.concordmonitor.com/Opinion/Submit-a-Letter
Conway Daily Sunnews@conwaydailysun.com
Coos County Democratdemocrat@salmonpress.com
Deerfield Forumnews@forumhome.org
Derry Newswww.derrynews.com/site/forms/online_services/letter/
Eagle Times (Claremont)news@eagletimes.com
Exeter News-Letternewsletter@seacoastonline.com
Foster's Daily Democrat - Doverletters@fosters.com
Gilford Steamersteamer@salmonpress.com
Hampton Unionhamptonunion@seacoastonline.com
Keene Sentinelletters@keenesentinel.com
Laconia Citizenletters@citizen.com
Laconia Daily Sunnews@laconiadailysun.com
Littleton Couriercouriernews@salmonpress.com
Londonderry Timeslodonnell@nutpub.net
Manchester Union Leaderletters@unionleader.com
Meredith Newsmnews@salmonpress.com
Milford Cabinet, Bedford Journal, Hollis-Brookline Journal, Merrimack Journalcabnews@cabinet.com
Monadnock Ledger Transcript (Peterborough)www.ledgertranscript.com/Opinion/Submit-a-Letter
Nashua Telegraphletters@nashuatelegraph.com
Plymouth Record Enterpriserecord@salmonpress.com
Portsmouth Heraldopinion@seacoastonline.com
Rochester Timesnews@rochestertimes.com
Tri-Town Times (Chester, Hampstead, Sandown)lodonnell@nutpub.net