Allen and Linda Holmes
Image Source: The Colebrook Chronicle
The Northern Pass will cut a swath through some of New Hampshire’s most scenic landscapes and jeopardize local jobs, sacrificing the future for short-term gain.

It is time to stand up for the places we love.

Make your voice heard and help New Hampshire make an informed decision. Contact your state and local representatives and urge them to protect your state – say NO to Northern Pass.

If you need ideas for what to say, here are some tips from Appalachian Mountain Club.

Action Needed!

In a recent and courageous order, 18 New Hampshire towns have banded together to legally assert the right of their communities to authorize how their roads can be used. Our roads should not be overtaken by behemoth projects like Northern Pass. A petition has been filed with the SEC to declare a decision the issue of local road control, requesting that the SEC establish a completely separate docket to address issues of local control.

Read the petition.

These affected communities along the route, from Pittsburg to Deerfield, have come together to protect NH from Northern Pass. However, this fight is not over: 13 towns along the route have yet to sign the petition. If you live in one of the towns listed below, contact your local officials and tell them to sign the petition and say NO to Northern Pass!

ALLENSTOWN:
Contact Town Administrator Sean Mulholland

CAMPTON:
Contact Board of Selectmen and Town Administrator

DALTON:
Contact Board of Selectmen Chair Nancy McVetty

DUMMER:
Contact Board of Selectmen Chair Richard Ouellette

FRANKLIN:
Contact Mayor Merrifield and City Councilors

HILL:
Contact Board of Selectmen

LANCASTER:
Contact Town Manager Edward Samson and Board of Selectmen

NORTHFIELD:
Contact Town Administrator Glenn Smith

STARK:
Contact Board of Selectmen Chair Albert Cloutier

THORNTON:
Contact Town Administrator Tammie Beaulieu

Sign the Petition

Now is a critical time more than ever for you to voice your opposition to Northern Pass. Sign the petition to urge the New Hampshire Site Evaluation Committee to protect our natural heritage by denying Northern Pass approval of its application.

Contact the SEC

Northern Pass must receive approval from the New Hampshire Site Evaluation Committee to start construction. The SEC is still taking comments from the public on Northern Pass.

Learn how to contact the SEC.

Contact Governor Sununu

Office of the Governor
State House
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-2121
Fax: (603) 271-7640

Email the Office of the Governor: http://www4.egov.nh.gov/nhgovernor/comments.asp.

Contact Your Legislator

Who’s My Legislator? Follow this link to identify and obtain contact information for your state and local legislators: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/house/members/wml.aspx.

Then write, call, or email them!

NH Newspapers and Contact Information for Letters to the Editor

Letters to newspapers throughout the state are an effective way to spread the No To Northern Pass message.

Tell your story on why you say no to Northern Pass. Write a letter to the editor of your local paper explaining how Northern Pass affects you. Read Representative Baber’s letter – it is a great example of why people should oppose the project.

Here are a couple of tips when writing your letter:

  • Be personal. The most powerful way of carrying out our message is by telling the individual stories behind our cause.
  • Be passionate but thoughtful. Use language that both conveys your emotion and is suitable to print. Think about what would appeal to an editor and local audience.

Here are the email addresses or websites for submitting letters to publications:

PUBLICATIONEMAIL/WEB FORM FOR LETTERS
Alton Baysiderbaysider@salmonpress.com
Amherst Citizennews@amherstcitizen.com
Berlin Daily Sunbds@berlindailysun.com
Berlin Reporterberlinreporter@salmonpress.com
Bow Timesinfo@thebowtimes.com
Carriage Town News (Kingston)www.carriagetownenews.com/site/forms/online_services/letter_editor/
Carroll County Independentcci@salmonpress.com
Colebrook Chroniclewww.colebrookchronicle.weebly.com/contact.html OR editor@colebrookchronicle.com
Colebrook News and Sentinelkarenhladd@colebrooknewsandsentinel.com
Concord Monitorwww.concordmonitor.com/Opinion/Submit-a-Letter
Conway Daily Sunnews@conwaydailysun.com
Coos County Democratdemocrat@salmonpress.com
Deerfield Forumnews@forumhome.org
Derry Newswww.derrynews.com/site/forms/online_services/letter/
Eagle Times (Claremont)news@eagletimes.com
Exeter News-Letternewsletter@seacoastonline.com
Foster's Daily Democrat - Doverletters@fosters.com
Gilford Steamersteamer@salmonpress.com
Hampton Unionhamptonunion@seacoastonline.com
Keene Sentinelletters@keenesentinel.com
Laconia Citizenletters@citizen.com
Laconia Daily Sunnews@laconiadailysun.com
Littleton Couriercouriernews@salmonpress.com
Londonderry Timeslodonnell@nutpub.net
Manchester Union Leaderletters@unionleader.com
Meredith Newsmnews@salmonpress.com
Milford Cabinet, Bedford Journal, Hollis-Brookline Journal, Merrimack Journalcabnews@cabinet.com
Monadnock Ledger Transcript (Peterborough)www.ledgertranscript.com/Opinion/Submit-a-Letter
Nashua Telegraphletters@nashuatelegraph.com
Plymouth Record Enterpriserecord@salmonpress.com
Portsmouth Heraldopinion@seacoastonline.com
Rochester Timesnews@rochestertimes.com
Tri-Town Times (Chester, Hampstead, Sandown)lodonnell@nutpub.net